beauty babble · Uncategorized

How to: Wash Makeup Brushes

 

img_0411

Dreadful. The moment you notice “I need to wash my makeup brushes” I’m notorious for using the same dirty makeup brushes day in and day out without washing them. I know I know. BAD DANIELLE! Those brushes are littered with bacteria, old makeup, and who else really knows. So today’s post is about how I wash my makeup brushes! As well as a reminder that if you’re reading this, you probably should get to cleaning as well!

Cleaning brushes is really simple, I really don’t know why I put it off so much. Lately I haven’t been wearing as much makeup as I normally do just because I haven’t gone out unless its to the gym so I havent felt the need to clean them. It is really easy, cheap only will take you about 10 minutes, depending on how many brushes you have haha! You also most likely will be able to find everything you need to do it in your kitchen!

First off you’ll need some sort of antibacterial soap, I personally use dish washing liquid but you can really use anything, I’ve seen some girls use bar soap and some girls use shampoo. If its safe for your skin, it’ll more or less be safe for your brushes. Then you’ll need a type of oil, I’m using olive oil today, but normally I would use coconut.

After you have these two things, you’ll need to grab a plate. Any plate will do, except paper as the oil will seep through it and then you’ll be cleaning counters, floors and potentially carpets if you do! You’ll want to mix one part oil with two parts soap onto the plate. Feel free to grab your first brush and begin swirling

After you have loaded your brush up with the oil/soap mixture, you’ll want to use the palm of your hand to begin getting that mixture inside the bristles of the brush. If you have a brush mat or a silicone pot holder you can use those as texture to get the mixture inside. You’ll want to begin rinsing with lukewarm water.

The water will begin to run clear and then that brush will be clean, Sometimes with a lot of product build up, I’ll have to dip my brush in the mixture a few times to get it clean. After the water runs clear, you’ll want to squeeze the excess water out of the brush and reshape it. Personally I like to reshape with my hand and then place the brush in a brush guard to maintain its shape.

 

And Wa-laaahh. Your brush is complete and ready for drying!  After placing the brush guards on I like to put my brushes, brush down in a cup or container to dry. Drying this way prevents the water from leaking up into the handle and causing the glue to break down. Never store your brushes in an upright position during and after washing to prevent this from happening.

 

Clean makeup brushes are the base of great makeup application. They prevent breakouts and skin irritation. It may be a hassle but its worth it in the end. Not only will you have a flawless application, you’ll save on makeup! Also Check out these products below to ease in your cleaning process!:

Makeup Brush Cleaning tool- $3.59

The Brush Guard $21.50The Brush Guard $21.90

 

xoxo

One thought on “How to: Wash Makeup Brushes

  1. I am honestly THE WORST when it comes to cleaning brushes. It truly is a dreadful moment haha, I am glad I’m not the only one who thinks so. I’m happy to read that it doesn’t even take that much to clean ’em, which will make the dreaded activity a little bit easier (because let’s face it, I will have to do it at some point – unless i’d rather buy new ones). Thanks for this quick tutorial.

    Loving your blog by the way, would you be interested in sharing your work elsewhere, letting your voice be heard, and also taking your writing to the next level? I’d love to talk to you about our platform. Simply shoot me an e-mail if you’re interested, you can find my contact details on my blog. Hope to hear from you soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

